The flip side

In case I don’t spend enough time at my job, this realization has been following me around for a little while now: nearly all of my friends are journalists. Even my best friend, who is finishing her business degree, is my best friend because we both started in the journalism program.

This shouldn’t be a huge surprise — I did, after all, spend four years with these people, sometimes for 22 hours at a time, sometimes at 3 in the morning editing the newspaper, sometimes just because we’re friends and like to hang out together.

It helps, I think, that we’ve all got the same slightly warped perspective on life and lifestyle. Journalism is not a 9-5 job, and if you’re a non-journalist hanging out with a bunch of journalists after hours, chances are you’re going to hear a lot of shop talk. We can’t help it. Even those in the journalism program who have chosen not to work at a newspaper can get into some awesome communications and newsroom debates. Also, chances are good that if, during a gathering, one of those journalists is carrying a scanner, at least one person is going to dash off to cover some accident or fire. Again, that’s just the way it is.

I’ve seen this list before – Five things you should know before dating a journalist – but I wanted to post it again tonight, because a lot of it can be applied to ‘Five things you should know before being friends with a journalist.’

If you give us enough time, we can find nearly anything out, through a variety of means. Tonight, I had a question for a friend, thinking she could ask someone else she has access to, so I texted her my question. She came back with a response she Googled, followed by confirmation from the live source. All within the span of about 45 minutes, and that’s only because I was slow texting on my end.

And that’s when I thought, ‘I wonder what it would be like to have the majority of my friends not be journalists.’

To be fair, three of my closest friends are not journalists, but we all have some of the same interests (that aren’t necessarily that common) and I’ve known M. and D. for what literally feels like forever (and M.B. is getting close to that) — certainly before any of us were seriously considering post-secondary and future career paths. The only nod I ever really get to my career choice with them is when M.B. asks if I really should be going back to the school at 9 p.m. to edit the newspaper or M. asks me to look over a paper for her.

One other quick note about non-journalists: I’ve dated guys who aren’t journalists, and rule No. 1 applies in spades. What I don’t get is if I’m dating a guy who is a journalist and he’s lied to me — he, of all people, should know that I’m going to figure it out!

Honestly, I love the fact that most of my friends are journalists. There are some things you can only explain to a journalist. But it does make me wonder sometimes about those non-journalist lives.

2 thoughts on “The flip side

Leave a Reply

