Three tumbled Tuesday thoughts

It’s funny that whenever I think I can do a combination post, I always end up with more than enough content, usually on one topic alone, to stand alone as a blog post. But, three of the thoughts that are running through my head today, anyways.

First thought (which wasn’t supposed to be the first thought, but anyways): originally, I typed in the title with each word capitalized. Background: the thought that always comes to mind when I see copy struck with Random Capitalization Syndrome is this tweet, paraphrased.  “I am the Grim Reaper of capitalization.” I find people tend to over-capitalize things that really don’t need to be. Newspapers are an exception, organizations and corporations are the rule. Case in point: I used to work at a newspaper, I now work at a non-profit organization.

Second thought: I love my friends. I was going to say that 95 per cent of them are journalists/in communications and the other five per cent is just random, but not even that’s true. Ninety-five per cent of them are journalists/in communications and the majority of the rest, I met through the pool. Some even overlap, journalism and pool, though I didn’t swim with them (we just must be attracted to each other because we can smell the chlorine). Even people I’ve met after university — nine times out of 10, they’re a journalist/in communications.

The point is that I am surrounded by journalists (and I’m not complaining). When I run into a problem, most of the time I can go to any number of friends and say, I’m having problems with this technology, or what would you do with this story, or give me your communications thoughts on this. I am so used to my friends having similar skills sets to me that it is a genuine surprise when someone else is pleased that I can do something that I thought everyone could do.

Part of this is the threat to journalism as well: it seems like everyone can do what we can. Everyone can use social media, everyone can film/photograph on their smartphone, everyone can spew their opinion. Or so it seems.

And sometimes, that kind of sucks. What’s the value of my work? I specifically compare it to the sciences — I’m not working on a cure for cancer, I’m not designing a sustainable, net-zero building, I’m not developing a method to reduce the waste from the tailings ponds.

When I moved to the city, I had a deal with myself: I was going to volunteer with organization X and Y. If I was going to pick up and move again, then I was going to make sure it was for reasons I couldn’t get in a smaller centre, both personally and professionally. I started working with organization X a while ago, but for a couple of reasons (logistics, procrastination and personal opinion) I didn’t and haven’t started working with organization Y. Instead, I put in an application to work with organization W, which does similar work with a different audience than organization Y.

Confused yet?

The point is, I put down a whole bunch of things I wouldn’t mind helping organization W with. They asked me today to do some video work, because they have never had someone volunteer to do it before. She was so excited about it, and the fact that I could pitch ideas off the top of my head.

That just comes naturally to me, and, because of the people I surround myself with, I assume and forget it’s not just natural to everyone. It’s such a pleasant feeling when you realize you actually might have a few valuable skill sets.

Third thought: I have hit the cooking wall. For a vegetarian, this usually means I don’t eat. Or I stop off at my friend’s apartment on the sixth floor and pick up the pumpkin cookies she promised me and eat four of those for dinner, which was the case last night.

I don’t mind cooking, and I try to cook in batches so I always have something to quickly grab during the week, and something to snack on on the weekends. Last week, a friend and I made pear jam and banana bread muffins (she mostly made those, I poured in the butter), and then I made cinnamon buns and avocado salad. For me, that’s a lot of kitchen time. And I think I’m a little cooked out, because my thoughts when I was headed to the grocery store this weekend were: peanut butter and banana sandwiches for lunch.

It’s a vegetarian’s last resort, and a sure sign I don’t want to put any effort into my lunches that week.

It also kind of helps that I’ve lost my appetite again this week, so I’m not very interested in food anyways (I brought a veggie wrap and snacks for work, but all I’ve eaten today are grapes and crackers) but I was fairly excited when I remembered I have a ton of avocados I need to use and enough leftover ingredients that I can make pico de gallo tonight.

Leave a Reply

