Watering my patch of Internet

Everything that I know about gardening is … not a lot. I managed to nearly successfully raise a tomato plant two summers ago, even carting it to a friend’s house so he could look after it for the 10 days I was on vacation. However, last summer, with minimal effort, I managed to kill my second attempt at a tomato plant in record time. Possibly due to minimal effort.

After acquiring a pallet late last August and inspired by Pinterest, I plan to build a vertical garden this summer. I expect to kill a couple tomato plants while doing it, but it’s a start, and will hopefully yield something.

In that case, I’m well aware that I’m starting from square one, and that’s OK. I don’t know a lot about gardening, and I’ll learn something this summer.

What I do feel I have a fairly good handle on, however, is the Internet. Give me a couple of hours and allow me to sigh loudly when frustrated, and I can probably have at least the basics of any digital media platform worked out shortly. I love analytics, and some days, it just seems like there’s too much interesting content on the Internet and not enough appropriate time/ways/channels to share it.

If the Internet were a community garden, the plots that were most attractive and produced high yields would use analytics smartly, incorporate a variety of media, and both curate and create good content.

To borrow from a friend, “Content is King. Good content is Queen. And we know who really runs the palace.” What I’m trying to say is (particular to Twitter), we know (some of) the numbers don’t matter — how many followers you have in particular. I will argue that the number of retweets you get is a valuable number (shows level of engagement, interaction) as does your own number of tweets (shows history, personality or a brand you’ve built up).

We’ve each got our own patch of Internet, that we’ve watered and cultivated and that bears the fruits of our labour.

Last week, I gave up my patch of Internet. I watered it in the morning and then walked away. Ten feet away, I picked a new patch of Internet and started again, and I can’t believe the source of anxiety it’s been.

I had my reasons, and I still entertain the idea of going back to my old patch of Internet — eventually, hopefully before everything dies, but it will be long enough that everything will have dried out and the effort to bring it back to life will likely be similar to growing something in a new patch of Internet anyways, and then who’s to say what happens to that other piece I started?

I’m anxious about what I gave up. I know I just said some numbers don’t matter, but connections do. That’s why I can still see my old patch of Internet from where I started new, and I still wander by daily. If I needed something from that old patch, there’s nothing stopping me from digging in the dirt and borrowing some seeds.

I know that the Internet grows fast, and since I know what I’m doing this time around, I hope to soon have an Internet garden that is both reminiscent of my old one and has a couple new plants too.

it’s just frustrating right now to see everyone else who has these beautiful patches of Internet, while I’m starting from square one — by my own choice, and the first to admit it — digging in the dirt and hoping something will grow.

2 thoughts on “Watering my patch of Internet

  1. I know what you mean. I deleted all my social media accounts a while ago, and now I’m starting over. I have no clue what I’m doing this time, as I don’t have my old accounts, contacts and identity to fall back on. It’s quite scary!

  2. My old account is still active, but I can’t say, “Hey! I’m over here now.” People just have to figure it out. And that’s the scary part, for me. I don’t have my identity to fall back on, I have to build it again, though technically I guess I have my old contacts through my old account if I really needed them. Glad I’m not the only one.

Leave a Reply

